TAMPA, FLA. — Junior Thatcher Demko of Boston College has been named the winner of the 2016 Mike Richter Award as the most outstanding goaltender in NCAA men’s hockey. Demko was presented with the award by Mike Richter tonight in Tampa, Fla., site of the 2016 NCAA Frozen Four. 


A native of San Diego, Demko backstopped the Eagles to a share of the Hockey East regular season championship and a berth in the NCAA Frozen Four while posting a 27-8-4 overall record. He leads the nation with 10 shutouts and ranks third in wins (27), tied for fourth in save percentage (.935),  fifth in winning percentage (.744), and eighth in goals-against average (1.88). 


A finalist for the Hobey Baker Award, Demko played in all but two games this season for the Eagles, allowing two goals or less 22 times. He stopped 30 or more shots in 15 games this season, and posted a .930 or better save percentage in 19 games. Demko’s school-record 10 shutouts were the second most in college hockey history for a season, tying David McKee (Cornell, 2005) and Ryan Miller (Michigan State, 2001), and he is two shutouts away from tying Cory Schneider’s (2004-07) benchmark of 15 for the BC career record.


At the onset of the season, Demko matched history after posting six shutouts in seven starts (Oct. 16-Nov. 8, 2015), stringing together a pair of three-game shutout streaks. His historic run tied Blaine Lacher of Lake Superior State for posting six shutouts in seven games, marking only the second time in the history of college hockey that feat has been achieved. 
For his career, Demko is 62-26-10 (.684) with a 2.08 goals-against average and a .928 save percentage. A second-round pick (36th overall) of the Vancouver Canucks in the 2014 NHL Entry Draft, Demko is an applied psychology major at Boston College.


The other finalists for the 2016 Mike Richter Award were Kevin Boyle of UMass Lowell, Cam Johnson of North Dakota, Charlie Lindgren of St. Cloud State and Alex Lyon of Yale.


Candidates for the Mike Richter Award were determined by nominations from all 60 NCAA Division I men’s hockey head coaches. The finalists and winner were selected by a committee of coaches, scouts and members of the media.


Criteria for the Mike Richter Award:
-    Candidates must display outstanding skills on the ice
-    Candidates should be in good academic standing at an NCAA college or university
-    Consideration should be given to academic achievement and sportsmanship
-    Candidates must comply with all NCAA rules; be full-time students at an NCAA college or university; and complete 50 percent or more of the

-    Consideration should be given to the candidate’s activities in the community


Past winners: 2015 Zane McIntyre (North Dakota), 2014 Connor Hellebuyck (UMass Lowell).

Boston College's Thatcher Demko wins 2016 Mike Richter Award