Maine’s Jeremy Swayman named
2020 Mike Richter Award winner


Let’s Play Hockey announced that Maine’s Jeremy Swayman is the winner of the seventh annual Mike Richter Award.

The University of Maine junior edged out a solid crop of contenders that included Matthew Galajda (Cornell), Spencer Knight (Boston College), Dryden McKay (Minnesota State) and Strauss Mann (Michigan).

Swayman, at 6’3” and 200 pounds, possesses a solid combination of size and skill. The Anchorage, Alaska native led the nation in saves with 1,099 and was second in the nation with a .939 save percentage. He played more than 2060 minutes and had three shutouts and a 2.07 goals against average. 

Swayman, 21, was a fourth round draft pick of the Boston Bruins in 2017 and faced 1,170 shots and allowed just 71 goals this past season. He stopped more than 30 shots 25 times during the season, more than 40 twice and more than 50 (52) once.  He allowed two goals or less in 23 of his 34 games played (18-11-5).

“Certainly Jeremy’s numbers this season are impressive and these speak for themselves,” said head coach Red Gendron. “The numbers provide evidence of his excellence but more than that, he provided our team with tremendous confidence because we all understood that he would make the saves we needed, whenever we needed them, ultimately leading to our team’s success.  His work habits and disciplined professionalism rivaled other great goalies I’ve been privileged to be on teams with like Martin Brodeur and Jon Quick.  These things can’t be seen by just looking at numbers but everyone here understands how real it truly was.”

Swayman is a Management major with a 3.38 GPA. He recently signed an entry-level contract with the Boston Bruins and will forgo his senior season at the University of Maine.

The winner of the Mike Richter Award was selected by a committee of coaches, scouts and members of the media. 

Past winners include: 2019 Cayden Primeau (Northeastern), 2018 Cale Morris (Notre Dame), 2017 Tanner Jaillet (Denver), 2016 Thatcher Demko (Boston College), 2015 Zane McIntyre (North Dakota), 2014 Connor Hellebuyck (UMass-Lowell).

Let’s Play Hockey is a print and online publication in it’s 48th year and publishes 21 times throughout the year. Let’s Play Hockey also hosts the Let’s Play Hockey Expo, the world’s largest consumer hockey show every March in St. Paul, MN.

Media inquiries should be directed to Bryan Zollman at Let’s Play Hockey at 320-333-3279 or