2019 Mike Richter Award to be presented Friday at

NCAA Frozen Four

Richter Award.jpg

The 2019 Mike Richter Award will be presented at 5 p.m. ET on Friday, April 12 at HarborCenter in Buffalo, N.Y., during Friday Night at the Frozen Four, the annual free event held during the NCAA Frozen Four. The announcement, held prior to the Hobey Baker Award presentation, will be streamed live at www.hobeybaker.com. The sixth annual Mike Richter Award, honoring the most outstanding goaltender in NCAA men’s hockey, will be presented by Mike Richter.

In alphabetical order, following are the finalists for the 2019 Mike Richter Award:


Joey Daccord - Arizona State - Junior
Jake Kielly - Clarkson - Junior
Cayden Primeau - Northeastern - Sophomore
Hunter Shepard - Minnesota Duluth - Junior
Andrew Shortridge - Quinnipiac - Junior

Following the Mike Richter Award presentation, the following awards will be presented: Hockey Humanitarian Award, AHCA All-American Teams, Tim Taylor National Rookie of the Year, Derek Hines Unsung Hero Award and the Hobey Baker Award.

Friday Night at the Frozen Four • Schedule of Events
• 3:30-4:30 p.m. – Autograph session featuring the three Hobey Baker finalists and both teams playing in the national championship game
• 5-5:15 p.m. – Mike Richter Award 
• 5:15-5:40 p.m. – Hockey Humanitarian Award (honoring college hockey’s “finest citizen” for leadership in community service)
• 5:45-5:50 pm – Hockey Coaches Association announcement of All-American Teams, national Rookie of the Year and Unsung Hero Awards
• 6-6:30 pm – Hobey Baker Award ceremony (honoring college hockey’s top player)


Admission to Friday Night at the Frozen Four is free and open to the public. Credentialed media by the NCAA may use their NCAA pass for access to the main floor and media work area – other media covering the Hobey Baker Award event only, will be provided seating in the media area. 

Candidates for the 2019 Mike Richter Award were determined by nominations from all 60 NCAA Division I men’s hockey head coaches. The finalists and winner are selected by a committee of coaches, scouts and members of the media.


Past winners: 2018 Cale Morris (Notre Dame), 2017 Tanner Jaillet (Denver), 2016 Thatcher Demko (Boston College), 2015 Zane McIntyre (North Dakota), 2014 Connor Hellebuyck (UMass Lowell).