20 goalies named to Mike Richter Award Watch List for 2016-17

Let’s Play Hockey and the Herb Brooks Foundation announced today the 20 goalies named to the watch list for the 2017 Mike Richter Award, which annually honors the most outstanding goaltender in NCAA Division I men’s hockey. The winner of the fourth annual award will be announced at the 2017 NCAA Men’s Frozen Four in Chicago. 

Goalies on the Mike Richter Award watch list are chosen by members of Let’s Play Hockey, utilizing both past performance and future potential. Freshmen are not included. 


Candidates for the Mike Richter Award will be determined by nominations from all 60 NCAA Division I men’s hockey head coaches. The semifinalists, finalists and winner are selected by a committee of coaches, scouts and members of the media.


Criteria for the Mike Richter Award:

  • Candidates must display outstanding skills on the ice

  • Candidates should be in good academic standing at an NCAA college or university

  • Consideration should be given to academic achievement and sportsmanship

  • Candidates must comply with all NCAA rules; be full-time students at an NCAA college or university; and complete 50 percent or more of the season

  • Consideration should be given to the candidate’s activities in the community


Past winners: 2016 Thatcher Demko (Boston College), 2015 Zane McIntyre (North Dakota), 2014 Connor Hellebuyck (UMass Lowell)