10 semifinalists announced for 2017 Mike Richter Award

Let’s Play Hockey and the Herb Brooks Foundation announced today the 10 semifinalists for the 2017 Mike Richter Award, which honors the most outstanding goaltender in NCAA men’s hockey. The five finalists for the fourth annual award will be announced on Thursday, March 23, with the winner presented on Friday, April 7 at the 2017 NCAA Men’s Frozen Four in Chicago.

The semifinalists combine for a 2.01 goals-against average, a .929 save percentage and a grade-point average of 3.25.

Candidates for the Mike Richter Award were determined by nominations from all 60 NCAA Division I men’s hockey head coaches. The semifinalists, finalists and winner are selected by a committee of coaches, scouts and members of the media.


Criteria for the Mike Richter Award:
-    Candidates must display outstanding skills on the ice
-    Candidates should be in good academic standing at an NCAA college or university
-    Consideration should be given to academic achievement and sportsmanship
-    Candidates must comply with all NCAA rules; be full-time students at an NCAA college or university; and complete 50 percent or more of

      the season
-    Consideration should be given to the candidate’s activities in the community


Past winners: 2016 Thatcher Demko (Boston College), 2015 Zane McIntyre (North Dakota), 2014 Connor Hellebuyck (UMass Lowell)

NOTES: There are nine Americans and one Canadian among the semifinalists • The 10 semifinalists represent seven different U.S. states – Minnesota leads with three , followed by California, Colorado, Iowa, Massachusetts, Michigan and New York with one each • One Canadian province is represented – Alberta • Conference breakdown – Atlantic Hockey 3, ECAC 2, Hockey East 2, NCHC 2, WCHA 1 • The semifinalists include two seniors, five juniors, one sophomore and two freshmen.