The 2017 Mike Richter Award will be presented at ESPN’s Talk Frozen Four and #CawlidgeHawkey event at Kitty O’Sheas in the Hilton Chicago (720 S. Michigan Ave.) on Friday, April 7 at approximately 7:30 p.m. CT. The fourth annual award honors the most outstanding goaltender in NCAA men’s hockey.


Mike Richter will present the award at the event which also features ESPN’s John Buccigross and Barry Melrose. Fans are encouraged to attend the event, which will include a Q&A, giveaways, autographs and lots of college hockey talk.


In alphabetical order, following are the finalists for the 2017 Mike Richter Award:


Michael Bitzer - Bemidji State - Junior
Tanner Jaillet - Denver - Junior
Hunter Miska - Minnesota Duluth - Freshman
Cal Petersen - Notre Dame - Junior

Charles Williams - Canisius - Senior


The finalists combine for a 1.95 goals-against average, a .930 save percentage and a grade-point average of 3.45.

Candidates for the Mike Richter Award were determined by nominations from all 60 NCAA Division I men’s hockey head coaches. The finalists and winner are selected by a committee of coaches, scouts and members of the media.


Past winners: 2016 Thatcher Demko (Boston College), 2015 Zane McIntyre (North Dakota), 2014 Connor Hellebuyck (UMass Lowell)


NOTES: There are four Americans and one Canadian among the finalists • The five finalists represent three different U.S. states – Minnesota with two, followed by Iowa and Michigan with one each • One Canadian province is represented – Alberta • Conference breakdown – NCHC 2, Atlantic Hockey 1, Hockey East 1, WCHA 1 • The finalists include one senior, three juniors and one freshman.

2017 Mike Richter Award to be presented Friday night at NCAA Frozen Four