The 2016 Mike Richter Award will be presented at ESPN’s #CawlidgeHawkey event at Champions Sports Bar in Tampa, Fla., on Friday, April 8 (7 p.m. ET). The third annual award honors the most outstanding goaltender in NCAA men’s hockey.


Mike Richter will present the award at the event which also features ESPN’s John Buccigross and Barry Melrose. Fans are encouraged to attend the event, which will include a Q&A, giveaways, autographs and lots of college hockey talk. 


In alphabetical order, following are the finalists for the 2017 Mike Richter Award:


Kevin Boyle - UMass Lowell - Senior

Thatcher Demko - Boston College - Junior

Cam Johnson - North Dakota - Sophomore

Charlie Lindgren - St. Cloud State - Junior

Alex Lyon - Yale - Junior


The finalists combine for a 1.82 goals-against average, a .933 save percentage and a grade-point average of 3.0.

Candidates for the Mike Richter Award were determined by nominations from all 60 NCAA Division I men’s hockey head coaches. The finalists and winner are selected by a committee of coaches, scouts and members of the media.


Past winners: 2015 Zane McIntyre (North Dakota), 2014 Connor Hellebuyck (UMass Lowell).

2016 Mike Richter Award to be presented Friday night at NCAA Frozen Four