Nominees announced for 2016 Mike Richter Award

Let’s Play Hockey and the Herb Brooks Foundation announced today the 26 nominees for the 2016 Mike Richter Award, which honors the most outstanding goaltender in NCAA men’s hockey. The third annual award will be presented by Mike Richter at the 2016 NCAA Men’s Frozen Four in Tampa, Fla. 

The nominees combine for a 2.15 goals-against average, a .926 save percentage and a grade-point average of 3.15. 

Candidates for the Mike Richter Award were determined by nominations from all 60 NCAA Division I men’s hockey head coaches. The finalists and winner will be selected by a committee of coaches, scouts and members of the media. The five finalists for the 2016 Mike Richter Award will be announced on Wednesday, March 16.

Criteria for the Mike Richter Award:
-    Candidates must display outstanding skills on the ice
-    Candidates should be in good academic standing at an NCAA college or university
-    Consideration should be given to academic achievement and sportsmanship
-    Candidates must comply with all NCAA rules; be full-time students at an NCAA college or university; and complete 50 percent or more of

      the season
-    Consideration should be given to the candidate’s activities in the community


Past winners: 2015 Zane McIntyre (North Dakota), 2014 Connor Hellebuyck (UMass Lowell)

NOTES: There are 19 Americans, six Canadians and 1 Finn among the nominees • The 26 candidates represent 12 different U.S. states – California, Minnesota and New York lead with three each, Pennsylvania with two, and Alaska, Colorado, Iowa, Maryland, Michigan, New Jersey, Texas and Wisconsin with one each • Five Canadian provinces are represented – Ontario with two, and British Columbia, Manitoba, Quebec and Saskatchewan with one each • Conference breakdown – ECAC 7, Hockey East 7, NCHC 4, Big Ten 3, WCHA 3, Atlantic Hockey 2 • The nominees include seven seniors, seven juniors, eight sophomores and four freshmen.